Craft your story

Dabble Community

Completely not working

Um the last update broke dabble. I can’t get past the quote screen.

1 Like

Yup. Same here.

1 Like

And as a tech I cleared my local storage, cookies, dbs in attempt to log me but I couldn’t figure out how to do that without the logout button.

AND I tried an icognito screen which I couldn’t even log into so it’s not even letting me login.

1 Like

Same here

1 Like

Same.

1 Like

It’s back

2 Likes

Thank you @jacob for a quick fix.

3 Likes

✓ Dabble Web v2.0.41 escaped and all is well again in the land :sunny:

This is why I stick with Dabble.

4 Likes

Sorry guys. Bad build. An updated dependent library left out the JavaScript in the page. Dabble with no code doesn’t work well, as you might imagine. :smile: Now I do a gut check on staging for every deploy, even a small tweak.

Now I’m not a professional software developer and hearken from the days when developers entered programs into the computer from the front panel and paper tape. When we listed programs to a teletype. And wrote in FORTRAN that compiled to intermediate code that had to be run through a linking loader to produce an executable. Sometimes my knuckles drag on the ground :blush:

These days I read about things like continuous integration, DevOps and unit tests.

Jacob, can you write a paragraph summing up how you relate to these concepts?

2 Likes

Well, there is the Software Engineer who builds out tests, constructs code, revels in algorithmic challenges, and has the highest commitment to quality code. Then there is the hacker (not the same as someone who hacks into things) who throws together anything they can find to try and make something work, even if just. They hack things together.

I’m somewhere in between. I like good code, but I balance design, marketing, website copy, support requests, and software coding by striving for “good enough” in each category. My “good enough” may be higher than some, lower than others.