Twin Reefs - First Chapter of Novella I Wrote

Chapter 1

I hated the fact that we were moving to some tropical shithole, but trust me I don’t swear unless I mean it. Most 17-year-old girls like me would love to have a house near the beach. I on the other hand, would make my funeral arrangements early and hope for someplace better in the afterlife.

But suicide was out of the question since my spunky 12-year-old sister, Kelli, would miss me and my Dad would be lonely because the divorce ruined him. Last time I saw my parents together, and not very peacefully, was when I was in the hospital after losing my right-arm in a boating accident two summers ago. It was a horrendous event that I don’t ever want to relive again.

“What do you think?!” squeaked Kelli.

I jerked awake from my nap at the sound of her high-pitched voice and blankly glimpsed up at the clear and bumpy blanket of water along the coastline. Quickly turning away to face Kelli’s freckled face I studied the picture she drew in the car.

“You always have to wake me from awesome dreams don’t you?” I jokingly replied.

Kelli smiled.

“I tried to make the trees better than last time.” Kelli said.

“I can see that very nice.” I answered, trying to sound amused. Kelli didn’t have the best artistic skills but I was her big sister and loved her.

“Marcelyn, Kelli…” Dad interrupted, “We’re here.”

I looked up towards the front; it was an old and crummy cottage that squatted over by the bay with a sandy driveway that we pulled into. I adjusted my prosthetic arm as I climbed out of the car behind Kelli who skipped towards the front door of the loathsome lodge with her picture. I could tell she despised the place just as much as Dad and I did but, she was trying to hide it.

As I wondered around the house trying to get familiar with the area, I spotted a mansion across from where we would be living, on the other side of the bay.