Craft your story

Dabble Community

Writer's Block - Getting Momentum

I’m not a prolific writer. When I do write, it’s usually an RPG module, but I think my question still applies:

How do you deal with writer’s block? I have great ideas in my head, but when I try to put them into writing, I end up just staring at the screen. A good friend of mine is a writer. She tells me that the best thing to do is just write something, even if it’s not directly related to your idea. Perhaps it’s a stream of consciousness related to my story. The idea is to get some momentum and take it from there.

I’ve had some success with that, but I struggle to get that initial “oomph.”

Also, when I am able to get words down, it is in bursts; I can’t sit there for hours and just keep writing as some do. I wish I could! Though I suspect that is a different issue…

I’m sure many of you folks, if not all, have experienced some sort of writer’s block. How do you overcome that obstacle? I’m just curious.

1 Like

It was many years ago but I still recall the details. I was an instructor for the UW Extension at the time teaching LAN Troubleshooting. The department head called to ask if I would take over a new networking class on short notice. There was no specific guidance over the curriculum. I’d have to make one up.

To generate a list of ideas for the course I decided to take advantage of what I’d learned in the Decker Communications class years earlier. I grabbed a Post-it pad and pen and sat down at a table. I would sit there and think about networking. As quickly as I could I’d write a relevant word or phrase that came to mind on the top Post-it, tear it off and set it down on the table top. I did this for maybe five minutes and stopped after the ideas ceased to flow.