Writing Trouble

Hey guys!
I have a dilemma in novel writing, and would love tips and/or advice. I’ve always enjoyed planning out my story plots and characters in depth, and giving much forethought to what will happen in my books, but I never have the impulse to just sit down and write the part that I’m up to in my book. I’d rather write the scene that excites me the most, than to just write the chapter I’m on.

Because of this, my novel is taking forever to be finished! I don’t call it “Writer’s Block” because I know what I need to be writing, I just don’t want to put it into words on paper unless it gives me a thrill. Should I just write what I feel like writing at any given time, or write each chapter in perfect order? Thanks in advance for reaching out!

1 Like

Any order. That’s how you can foreshadow better and such and weave everything together.

1 Like

Write what makes you wanna write. The rest will fall into place. I’m a linear writer, but many others skip all over the place.

2 Likes

Thank you, I’ll keep it in mind!

1 Like

Thank you for your advice! :blush:

As I write mostly short stories, I have soooo many things started and little finished. I usually have a top to do list and end up working on what just feels like most fun in the moment.
After several years I can tell you that I have some 25 finished shorts, one collection polished and published. Hoping to get a second book out next year latest!

So: Writing should be fun, anything you do in life should be fun! If not, it might just not be the right job, friend, partner, path in general. :+1:

2 Likes

Wow, neat! What’s your published collection called? I have a lot of unfinished things as well. :grimacing:

1 Like